Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Points Guidelines

How to manage your annual CPD requirements 

  1. SET your Professional Development (PD) goals. Think about what areas of your practice you wish to develop considering your accreditation type. For example, if you are an AEP, you may wish to gain more knowledge in pain management, you need to update your First Aid and you wish to understand more about working within the NDIS. These goals all relate to developing the scope of practice of an AEP.
  2. CHOOSE opportunities that meet your goals such as workshops, podcasts, online learning, etc. You can choose ESSA accredited PD or external PD (scroll to the bottom of this page).
  3. CHECK. Firstly ask yourself whether the PD relates to your practice as an ESSA accredited professional. Check that the PD you have chosen meets the ESSA guidelines for your accreditation type (scroll to bottom of page) and determine how many points you can claim using the 2018 points system. ESSA recommends you download these two important documents and refer to them each time you consider choosing a PD.
  4. RECORD your CPD and ensure you have evidence of completion.

* Some ESSA members are dual qualified (i.e have 2 or 3 accreditations). You still only need to accrue a minimum 20 points and this can be related to any of your accreditation types. 



2019 CPD Policy and Guidelines


What can be used for CPD points?

There are so many ways you can earn your annual 20 CPD points. Follow the checklist below to determine if a Professional Development (PD) is going to be eligible for CPD points, for your accreditation type;

The Points
* You can accrue points from 4 categories,
* You MUST accrue at least 15 points from the Further Education category (e.g courses, webinars and podcasts related to the scope of practice, First Aid and CPR) and
* The remaining 5 points can be from either the  Presenting and Publication (e.g. poster presentation, publication, writing for ESSA, guest lecturer), Self Education (e.g. reading articles) and Community Services (e.g. student supervision, ESSA AGM meeting).
* There is a points system which clearly explains how many points are claimable in each category and there are lots of examples click and download the 2018 CPD Points System and have it handy.

The Guidelines

The PD opportunity must meet ESSA’s requirements – there are guidelines that you need to check when considering a PD opportunity e.g. the qualifications of the presenter. See the 2018 CPD Guidelines below for your accreditation type.

The Evidence
You need evidence of the PD you have completed, keep copies of the articles you read the certificates awarded and record and upload to your electronic CPD logbook 

How can I be sure ESSA will accept my Professional Development?

It’s really simple!
1.  Does the Professional Development (PD) you have chosen develop the scope of practice related to your accreditation type?
2.  Has it met the 2018 CPD Guidelines and 2018 CPD Points System? 

2018 CPD Requirements

CPD Point Guidelines
2018 CPD Guidelines for Accredited Exercise Scientists (AES)
2018 CPD Guidelines for Accredited Exercise Physiologists (AEP)
2018 CPD Guidelines for Accredited Sports Scientists (ASpS1, ASpS2) and Accredited High Performance Managers (AHPM) 

* 2018 CPD Manual Logbook (downloadable word version)
* Electronic CPD Logbook - follow the below steps for access: 
     1. Sign into Members Account (top right side of page) 
     2. Click on “Professional Development” from top menu
     3. Click on “My Electronic Logbook” from righthand side menu 

CPD Point System
Full 2018 CPD Point System

Presenter Qualifications
ESSA will accept Professional Development presented by anyone who meets the below qualifications in line with their presentation topic. If the presenter/s do not hold the relevant qualifications/experience, ESSA reserves the right to not accept the applicable CPD Points.

* An ESSA accredited person, who presents within their SoP
* A recognised qualification~ relevant for the activity they are presenting on
* A minimum of an AQF level 7 qualified allied health professional with experience in exercise (e.g. exercise physiologist, physiotherapist, cardiac care nurse, occupational therapist, doctor, clinical nurse consultant)
* A state, national or international level sports coach
* An Australian Strength and Conditioning Association (ASCA) level 2 or 3 coach
* A Pilates professional with a minimum of level 3 qualifications. Please refer to ESSA’s Pilates based Professional Development Guidelines (individuals) for all presenter requirements for any Pilates based PD undertaken.
~A qualification recognised or endorsed by a regulating authority such as a national association.


ESSA’s policy for Pilates based professional development

Any Pilates based professional development must adhere to the ESSA’s policy for Pilates based professional development guidelines for accredited persons .


Reduction of/extension to ESSA’s annual CPD requirements

In situations of extenuating personal and/or professional hardship a reduction/extension to the required annual CPD points may be granted. To apply for a reduction/extension to the required annual CPD points, the accredited person is required to complete the 2018 ESSA application for Reduction/extension of CPD Points, outlining details of the extenuating circumstances that would allow for a reduction/extension to be granted. Completed applications should be forwarded to the Professional Development & Conference Specialist and results are at the discretion of the National Board. Only situations that have created a significant obstacle to your ability to complete the required annual CPD points will be considered.

Nil exemption of the annual CPD requirements will be considered.

2019 - Not yet accepted
2018 - Applications will be accepted until 31 January 2019. 

2019 CPD Requirements

New CPD requirements are effective from 1 January 2019. These requirements include a new CPD Policy and new CPD Guidelines (including new CPD Points System). All accredited professionals will still need to accrue 20 points annually (inclusive of a minimum 15 points from Further Education).

The changes include:
- A new points system of only 2 categories- Further Education and Self-Education/Professional Contributions
- Revised points system- increased points allocation and/or caps for most Further Education activities
- Inclusion of applicable presentation and publication activities within the Further Education activities- these must be targeted at peers. See the CPD Guidelines
- Greater flexibility in acceptable evidence
- Introduction of CPD points requirements for individuals in the first year of their first ESSA accreditation. This will be calculated on quarterly pro-rata basis.See the CPD Guidelines


Previous years requirements  

For the ESSA CPD point guidelines, point system and/or manual logbooks for previous years (2017 - 2012), please contact ESSA Professional Development at, or phone 07 3171 3335.